Showered with compliments!

liebster-blog-awardNo this isn’t a fiction piece… I really have been showered with compliments in the wake of the AtoZ Challenge.
I’m really feel honoured and a little bit ‘scarleh’ as they say in Dublin
I was mentioned in two reflections posts  and was nominated for the Liebster award 3 times! *blushes

So I hope the three folk who nominated me won’t mind if I combine all three into one response.
Thank you so much Bethie at CreativeWordlenik, Ruby at rubywilber.com and Madeline at Reincarnated as a Writer

The rules seem to vary from blog to blog… so I’ll do my version of them…
I’ll give 11 random facts about me
I’ll answer 9 questions –  I’ll pick n mix 3 from each of the 3 nominations
I’ll nominate 11 bloggers to receive the award (it varies as to how many followers they should have so I’m not going to worry about that 😀 )
I’ll ask my nominees 11 questions of my own but they can answer as few or as many as they like – Hey! it’s my award – I can do what I like right?!

So 11 facts about me… 

  1. I struggle to say certain words… including cannelloni, manila and circuitous (I can’t get beyond ‘sircutious’)
  2. When I was a hairdresser in Dublin I cut one of the All Black’s hair then went to New Zealand to work for 3 months and met no one famous
  3. I am rubbish with numbers I literally cannot hold a number in my head if I don’t write it down it’s gone… even one digit!
  4. But… I can make up a verse of a song or a short limerick in less than a minute
  5. I love to sing and play the guitar, I also play the violin, but not very well
  6. I have 27 nieces and nephews and a whole tribe of grand nieces and nephews  but sadly no children of my own
  7. Though I’ve been blogging for about 6 years, I’ve only been writing fiction for about a year. I’m happy with my progress tho
  8. In company I’m usually fairly confident then I go home and stress about all the stupid things I said and did
  9. My dream is to sing on stage with a full orchestra behind me and a full audience in front of me
  10. I hate pink, don’t like to wear it or have it in my home – won’t even drink from a mug with pink on it.
  11. Every gold fish and pot plant I’ve ever owned has died from neglect
  12. God is the strength of my heart and my portion for ever

 

My amazing  birthday cake
My amazing birthday cake

3 of Bethie’s questions
What did you do on your favorite birthday?
It was last year. I was 40 and had an 80s discos where everyone came dressed in 80’s gear – more illuminous pink than you could shake a stick at

If it were possible, would you be taller or shorter than you are now?
I’d be narrower 🙂

What fictional character would be a good leader for your country?  Why?
I love to give President Bartlet from the West Wing a try. The fictional character as portrayed by Martin Sheen is a great balance of faith, realism and humour. 

3 of Ruby’s questions
What household chore do you loathe?
Cleaning the bathroom – no further comment!

What skill or talent would you like to have?
I’d love to more organised. I’m a bit all over the place and often leave stuff til the last minute (even though I work well under pressure)

What is your mother’s favorite song?
She used to sing a beautiful song called, ‘May you always walk in sunshine.’ 

3 of Madeline’s questions
How much was your first pay-packet for, and what was the job?
£17.50 Irish pounds for a week’s work in a hairdressing salon as a junior

Which emotion do you feel the most easily/most often? Do you enjoy it?
Not sure what the name of the emotion is but it’s usually…. arrgghhhh why am I such an eejit!? and no… I don’t enjoy it!

Has anything out-of-the-ordinary wonderful ever happened to you? Can you tell us about it?
I had a cornea transplant  years ago and a year afterwards I got a letter from my donor’s mom in the US. We’re now in regular contact and hope to meet face to face one day. It’s a wonderful friendship 🙂

 

liebster-blog-award 3My Nominees 
My new AtoZ friends at Sumptuous Living and 1 Hundred Works gave me a lovely mention in their reflections posts so they are my first two nominations for the Liebster Award!
and the other 9 are some of the many blogs I found and loved during the Challenge?

http://ventimochamoments.com/
http://amydot90.wordpress.com/
http://bootsandbluestockings.blogspot.ie/
http://lillian888.wordpress.com/
http://transformednonconformist.blogspot.ie/
http://nouveauscarecrow.wordpress.com/
http://todayithink.wordpress.com/
http://mymorningcupofcoffee.blogspot.ie/
http://lifeinfullswingblog.blogspot.ie/

And the questions for my nominees 

  1. Tell us one thing you learned from the AtoZ Challenge.
  2. Do you like your name? If not what would you change it too?
  3. Do you write to music or do you prefer to write in silence?
  4. Apart from the computer, what can you see in front of you?
  5. How did you choose the name for your blog?
  6. What makes you laugh?
  7. Would you like to share your Facebook page or Twitter handle?
  8. What was your first ever blog post about?
  9. Who was the most influential adult when you were growing up?
  10. If you could have an all expenses paid holiday anywhere in the world, where would it be?
  11. I love to write limericks and short poems – can you write the last line of this one please….

I did the AtoZ
Oh yeay and whoop for me
While others were joggin
I was bloggin
……

20 thoughts on “Showered with compliments!

  1. Congratulations! You are an amazing! I like your answers and your rules.

    So…I won’t be sending you any pink potted plants 🙂

    Thanks for nominating me! Hugs!

  2. Congrats on your awards and compliments. Sounds like you had a good journey through the a-z and reflections. I’m gassed up and rollin along on the road trip, hitting some folks I didn’t find during the a-z, and some repeats…Happy Friday

    • Thanks for popping by Sandy. Hope you enjoy the road trip. Looking forward to getting started. Still catching up after the madness of the AtoZ 😉

    • Hi Bill. thanks for stopping by.
      I understand your point about the awards – I’d like to think that is it given on the merit of the blog and that the questions come afterwards.
      Until now I haven’t really been involved in the awards thing – but I felt it would be a bit ungracious of me not to respond to 3 nominations! 🙂

  3. Hi Bill. thanks for stopping by.
    I understand your point about the awards – I’d like to think that is it given on the merit of the blog and that the questions come afterwards.
    Until now I haven’t really been involved in the awards thing – but I felt it would be a bit ungracious of me not to respond to 3 nominations! 😀

  4. Love your responses. Being one of those who awarded this, I chose based on the blog’s creativity and having something to say. So I guess those count as merits. I enjoyed it. I’d like to think that’s how I got the award as well. In my research I found that changing the rules is in the spirit of the award so Cheers! for that. I’m glad to hear someone else liked turning 40.

  5. You absolutely deserved the compliments!

    I love how you tweaked the “rules” of the award thing, too 🙂

    Your “narrower” reply made me laugh. And your cornea transplant story was touching. Have you blogged about that at all? So neat that you were able to build a relationship with the donor’s family!

    And just because I looked at it and my mind wanted to come up with something for the end of your limerick, how about “So cra-zy I must be”?

Leave a Reply

