Watching… Waiting… Wondering…

a-to-z-letters-wAfter the night that my sisters were here and we heard everyone talking, I was really sad. I didn’t know what was wrong but something was wrong. I don’t think Jim even noticed, he just went around doing the things he always does.

I wanted to stay beside my mam no matter what. I told her that I was too sick to go to school. I don’t think she believed me but she said I could stay home. I asked her if I could be downstairs on the sofa and she said yes, that it was ok as long as I didn’t tell Da. He was on a long day.

I watched her all day but she was the same as every day. She listened to her radio and she sang when the old songs came on. She put coal on the fire and then she sat on the sofa beside me.

I thought she was going to say something but she just gave me a hug and a kiss and went back into the kitchen.

My big sister Marie came and she went into the kitchen. I sneaked out to the hall, they were laughing but I couldn’t hear what they were saying.

My baby nephew was crying in the pram so I went to see him. Marie came out and said that if I wasn’t sick I could’ve had a hold of him but she didn’t want him to catch my cold. Then she whispered in my ear, “not even your pretend one.”

Mam called us in for some soup and said I could sit at the table.

Later on she said to me, “you weren’t sick today, sure you weren’t?”

I looked down at my shoes.

Is everything ok mammy?

Sure why wouldn’t it be?

She went back into the kitchen and I went upstairs to look for Jim. I wanted to tell him that I thought everything was ok – but he was out playing, so I had to wait til later.

******************************************

If this is your first visit to Lizzy’s story and you want to know who she is and where she came from you can read A is for About a girl…

8 thoughts on “Watching… Waiting… Wondering…

Leave a Reply

