Runaway

a-to-z-letters-rI’m sitting on the stairs and I know I’m in big trouble and it’s all Jane Finlay’s fault.

She told me that the lump of chalk she had was magic. It was all different colours and it looked brilliant. But she tricked me. I swapped her my bike for the chalk, and it wasn’t even magic.

When I went home, mam asked me where my bike was and I told her I sold it. She shouted and shouted at me for ages for letting someone take my bike again. My big brother Patrick was there so she sent him around to the Finlay’s to get my bike back. Then she told me that when Da got home she would tell him and he would decide what to do with me.

She never shouted at me like that before and I was in a bad mood cos it wasn’t my fault. So… I decided to run away.

I put on an extra jumper and took all the money out of my savings box. I took my books out of my school bag and put in my teddies that I got for Christmas. I called them Holly and Ivy. Then I put in the photograph of me with all my nieces and nephews. My mam was in the kitchen with Patrick so I snuck out the front door.

I was nearly at the end of my road and I saw our next door neighbour was coming towards me.

Hello Lizzy

Hello Mrs McKeown

Ahh are you off to the shops for your mammy?

Eh… yes Mrs McKeown

You’re a good girl, goodbye now

Bye Mrs McKeown

Goodbye everyone!
Goodbye everyone!

I waited til she was gone and then I started walking again. I crossed the little field and headed down the path. I had to be careful cos the path goes around and you can see some of it from the kitchen window in our house. I didn’t want mam to catch me.

When I got to the end of the path I stopped. I knew I couldn’t go any further. I had enough money – you can get loads with seventeen pence. And I knew I’d miss my mam a bit, but she shouted at me so much that I didn’t care. The reason I couldn’t go wasn’t cos of any of that – it’s cos I’m not allowed cross the big road on my own!

So I just went home; and now I’m sitting on the stairs waiting for Da to come home 😦

 

******************************************

If this is your first visit to Lizzy’s story and you want to know who she is and where she came from you can read A is for About a girl…

19 thoughts on “Runaway

Leave a Reply

