Overboard

a-to-z-letters-oMy Aunty Rosaleen was in the house today. She is married to my Da’s brother, Uncle James. I don’t really like her and I don’t think she likes me either. Mammy says I still have to be nice to her though.

When Aunty Rosaleen laughs it’s like she doesn’t think you’re funny but she has to laugh anyway.  She never believes me when I tell her a story. She shakes her head no matter what I say and then in her real posh voice she says, “Oh Lizzy dear, you do go overboard.”

She said it today when I told her that I got lost in town and thought mammy wouldn’t find me again. She did her laugh too. I went out to sit on the stairs for a while. I didn’t want to hear about their holiday and their new car either.

Mammy was making tea in the kitchen and I went in and sat at the table. She looked very tired. Her hair was messy and her face was all red. I asked her if she was ok.

Oh I’m fine love. I just didn’t know Uncle James was coming. I’ve no nice biscuits or anything. They’ll have to have bread and jam; although that’ll be the end of the jam. 

I thought mammy was going to cry so I tried to think of something to say.

Mam? 

What love?

Remember we watched the programme about all the people on the posh boat that sank? 

The Titanic? Yes I do.

Were lots of people saying that it was worse than it really was?

Lizzy what are you talking about? I don’t know what you mean.

Well the man said that lots of people went overboard.

My mam said nothing and then she started to shake. I was so upset cos I was trying to stop her from crying and I just made it worse.

Mammy?

Aunty Rosaleen never goes overboard on her laughter...
Aunty Rosaleen
never goes overboard
on her laughter…

She turned around but she wasn’t crying, she was laughing. She laughed for ages and then she came over and put her two hands around my face and said,

You, Lizzy Redmond, make the world a shiny place do you know that?

Then she kissed me on my forehead, gave me a slice of bread and jam off the plate and brought the rest into the sitting room.

I’m not really sure what she meant, but if felt nice 🙂

******************************************

If this is your first visit to Lizzy’s story and you want to know who she is and where she came from you can read A is for About a girl…

22 thoughts on “Overboard

Leave a Reply

