Knitting… with Kevin?

a-to-z-letters-k

Today was the best day ever. I went to Iris’ house for the first time. She’s my best friend now ๐Ÿ™‚

We were finishing our homework whenย I heard this big loud laughing in that hall. I got a fright and I thought we might be in trouble with Iris’ Da if he thought we were making noise. But Iris told me that it was her Da laughing.

The door opened and this big huge man walked in. He looked like SANTA CLAUS! He had a fat belly and a big long beard and everything.

Hello there, you must be Lizzy, I’m Kevin Malone. Iris’ daddy. How are you?

He was so big and loud I didn’t know what to say. He grabbed my hand and squez it real tight and shook it like he was waving a flag.

It’s ok young miss, you don’t have to be scared of me, I’m a little tiny pussy cat, I’m just wearing a huge lion’s suit that’s all.ย He started roaring laughing again.

I took a deep breath and said, Hello Mr. Malone, it’s very nice to meet you.ย 

Oh no no, not Mr Malone, you can call me Kevin. Now what are you girls up to?ย Iris are you finished your homework? How is your scarf coming on?ย Mr Malone sat down on the sofa and I nearly fell off cos he made all the cushions jump up.

Iris crawled in behind the sofa and when she came back she had a small bag that had her knitting in it.

My dad ith helping me knit a thcarf and when we’re finithed we’re going to make a cardigan.ย 

Your DA is helping you?ย I couldn’t believe it. Iris put her head down and I was raging I said it like that.

Oh yes Lizzy, I was an only child and my father died when I was very young. I had no one to teach me to fish or play football, so my mother taught me what she knew and that was knitting. And now I’m teaching Iris. Would you like to learn?ย 

Iris looked up at me as if she was scared of what I’d say but I always wanted to learn so I said yes please about 20 times.

knittingMr Malone got me some needles and some wool and showed me how to putย stitchesย on and knit a plain row. It took me ages but he was very nice and didn’t give out to me. Every time I called him Mr Malone he said I was to call him Kevin. When I was finished he said he would drive me home and Iris could come for the jaunt.

He even said I could keep the wool and the needles to practise.

He is really nice; but if ever he comes to my house I’ll have to call him ‘Mr Malone’. I don’t know what my Da would say if he heard me calling him ‘Kevin’. I don’t know what he’d say about the knitting either…

34 thoughts on “Knitting… with Kevin?

  1. This is great! I’m going to have to read all of your posts. Such fun! And I love the “voice” you write in. Wonderful fun!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! Nice to “meet” you.
    Jen

  2. LOVE the story, I know men who knit. I also knit and crochet and operate a charity that accepts donations that are knitted and crochetd, it’s Bridge and Beyond if you’re interested to check it out. Here for A-Z

  3. Great story – and Kevin (eh, I mean, Mr Malone) is a great character. I tried knitting once, when I was a wee boy. I stress the word ‘once’ – I was all fingers and thumbs so I gave it up ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

