Iris Clementine Malone

a-to-z-letters-iWe got a new girl in our class today. Mrs Prince said that she had just moved here and we were all to be nice to her.  Then she said, “Tell everyone your name,” and the new girl said,
“Irith Clementine Malone.”
A few of us giggled but Mrs Prince was staring at us so we stopped.

Mrs. Prince told Iris to sit down beside Mary Kelly. Poor Iris. I wouldn’t want to sit beside Mary Kelly.

Out in the yard some of the girls were jeering her, “Howya Irith, why didn’t your mammy call you Molly.”  Debbie Molloy told them to shut up. I didn’t say anything to them, but I told Iris she could come and play with us.

She’s really nice. She said that her Da said she’s to always tell people her full name cos he wanted her to be called Clementine but her mam said no. So it had to be her middle name. Her Da is from Dublin but her mam is from Wexford. And the best thing ever is that she has a little sister called Lizzy. Same as me.

When we came in from the yard, I asked Mrs Prince if Iris could sit beside me at Art-time; we sometimes are allowed change places for Art. And guess what? Iris is BRILLIANT at drawing. She did a house and a garden with a dog in it. And all little tiny flowers in the garden. She drew a pram with baby in it and the baby had a tiny face and hands and everything; they looked really real. I asked her how she knew how to do that. Iris said she didn’t know, she just could.

lizzy's dog
It looks like a cow
doesn’t it 😦

I was so jealous. I can’t draw anything. If I draw a dog it looks like a cow. And when I draw a person their hands are too big. Iris said she would teach me how to draw better 🙂 I hope I can learn.

I like Iris, I hope she will be my friend.

When it was time to put the art stuff away, Mrs Prince said, “Now girls make sure you sign your drawings before you put them on the art table.”

Iris signed hers – Iris Clementine Malone, so I signed mine – Lizzy Mary Redmond

***************************************

If this is your first visit to Lizzy’s story and you want to know who she is and where she came from you can read A is for About a girl…

19 thoughts on “Iris Clementine Malone

Leave a Reply

