Friday Favourites

a-to-z-letters-fI know today is Saturday but Friday is my favourite day!
I love Fridays, times ten – do you know why?

On Friday’s we don’t get any homework. πŸ™‚

Well we do but it’s not real homework. Mrs Prince writes the same 3 things on the blackboard every Friday. I know them off by heart.
1. Listen to the news once
That’s ok cos mam always has the news on. I don’t know why, cos it’s so boring.
2. Say your morning prayers
Sometimes I forget but I always tell Mrs Prince if I do.
3. Bring in a new story for Nuacht
Nuacht is Irish for news and we have to write a Nuacht story in school every Monday morning.

BUT the other thing I love about Fridays is that my sisters and brothers all come for their dinner and they bring the kids.
So I can play with my nieces and nephews and because I’m older, I’m in charge.

The house gets full and noisy and we have my favourite dinner in the whole world.
Yellow fish with mammy’s chips. mmmm even the smell of it is yummy πŸ™‚

One time Granny came for dinner on Friday and when I told her we were having yellow fish she said to tell mammy she didn’t want it. Mammy said, “Go back and tell her that it’s smoked cod in white sauce.” Granny said, “well why didn’t you say that in the first place?”
We only ever call it yellow fish, but I didn’t tell her cos I didn’t want to get mammy into trouble.

My dad gets his dinner first and he eats his in the sitting room. If my brothers are home from work they get theirs too.
Then I sit up at the table with my nieces and nephews and we eat ours. ooohh yum yum I love it!

When we are finished I take my nieces and nephews out to the back garden and we play until it’s time for everyone to go home.

ring a ring a rosie
ring a ring a rosie

NOW can you see why I love Fridays??? πŸ™‚

ps I’m on Twitter if you’d like to follow me… @lizzyredmond

36 thoughts on “Friday Favourites

  1. That was lots of fun! I’m okay with Fridays, but I can’t say that I love them. I work every weekend. Sunday is my Friday, sort of.
    I’m one of the team from the Crazy Town in Looney Land blog. We appreciate your comments! πŸ™‚

    • Oh right! Lovely to hear from you πŸ™‚ I passed your blog address to a friend who lectures Social Workers in training re mental health. I think he’ll really appreciate it.

      Glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks for popping in πŸ™‚

  2. This is like a book. I think I will have to tell my granddaughter about it. I think she will enjoy reading the story. The Friday sounds wonderful. And so long ago. but not that long ago.

  3. I actually miss the days when I was in high school and college and had homework. At the time it was not so much fun, but it is better than being an adult and having to do taxes. I found you via the A to Z Challenge, and look forward to your future postings.

    • Thanks Julia
      yes indeed, we think when we leave school we’re done with it but really it’s only beginning!
      I’ll be sure to pop by your blog πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Y’all!

    Thanks for visitin’ me. Loved reading through several of your entries.

    Y’all come back now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

Leave a Reply

