Confessions

a-to-z-letters-cMy knees were really hurting me. I was glad when I finished my penance and I could sit up again. It was my third confession, so my list was short. I forgot one of the prayers though and Fr. Ben had to help me with the words. I bet that’s why he gave me so many Hail Marys to say.

Mam told me I had to come straight home but I liked the peace and quiet of the little chapel so I stayed for a few minutes.

I sat there looking at the statue of the Our Lady. Mary was in a white dress with a blue shawl over her head. She had her arms out and was looking down and to the right. She had a sort of crown on her head.

“Blessed art thou among women.” I said again, out loud.

I get a bit confused about Mary cos she is always dressed like a nun. One day I asked  Granny if Our Lady was a nun and Granny smacked me and said, “Don’t ask such a stupid question. Make sure you tell the priest that when you do your first confession.”

confessionalI didn’t though, cos when Sr Catherine did our confession classes in school she spent ages and ages reading out a big long list of sins and asking stupid questions wasn’t on it!

So I was sitting there looking at Our Lady and Fr. Ben came out of the confession box.

Still here young lady?

Yes Father, just finished my penance.

Good girl. Those prayers are in your First Holy Communion book, you should try to learn them again; but you probably don’t know where it is do you?

I do Father, mammy put it away safe with my medal.

OK, hang on there for a second.

He disappeared through a door I’d never seen before and he came back 2 seconds later with a little booklet.

Here you go. They’re all in there. Let your mammy keep your prayer-book safe.

Thanks Father

You’re welcome love. God bless you Lizzy.

I wanted to say ‘God bless you too Father’ but I was afraid to. It’s probably something granny would smack me for saying.

When I got home Mam asked me what took me so long. I said there were loads ahead of me in the queue.

That means I already have ‘lies’ on the list for my next confession.
More Hail Marys!

37 thoughts on “Confessions

  1. Confession is tricky, isn’t it? So hard to sort some things out, especially when you’re a kid. I think you’ve done a wonderful job here with Lizzy’s point of view.

    • Hi Elaine. Thanks a mil.
      Can you elaborate on your point pls?
      I’m fairly new to fiction and eager to learn.
      Do you think she was too young to be able to express/understand her feelings as she did?

      • Although I’m not Elaine, may I answer this one? I was an only child, and could certainly have thought like Lizzie. In fact, although I didn’t have to do confession, I can remember having very similar thoughts at about the same age. People often tell me my child characters are precocious, so I wonder if I had had siblings distracting me, might I have thought differently? In other words, if Lizzie is an only, I think she’s fine. If not, not sure….

  2. This could have been called confusion as much as confessions. Poor kid was clearly confused and struggling. Lovely story. Good luck with the rest of the challenge 🙂

  3. Of all my years in Catholic school I’ve never known another kid who wasn’t confused by the rules of the clergy. I saw Lizzy and felt her frustration. Nicely done.

    I’m enjoying exploring all these blogs, but yours was one of the best I’ve seen. I just started blogging for the first time ever this week when I started this A to Z Challenge. Lots yet to learn. Thank you for the fine posting.

  4. I just discovered Lizzie because of your visit to my blog. So glad I did! What a great story. Poor Lizzie, getting a rotten answer to her completely sensible question. Poor little kids.

    • thanks Kristin.
      Yeah, questions weren’t always dealt with very well 😦
      Lizzy is good fun and can be fairly pragmatic about stuff at times – in her own little way 🙂

  5. This brought back memories. My sister got married in a Catholic church during a fierce storm – (I was only 5 or 6 yrs. old (big age difference) – so I was convinced this was a sign that I should convert to catholicism…long story short, I nearly got a hiding from my Protestant father. No wonder I’m all messed up now 🙂

  6. LoL, this is great! I went to Catholic school from kindergarten through 12th grade. How I hated going to confession! It was so awkward, especially when you had to sit face-to-face with the priest. And we all got the same penance to do. I’m glad those days are over!

    Happy A to Z-ing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

    • Thanks for popping in Laura.
      I know as kids I don’t think we really knew what was going on 🙂
      Hope you enjoy the A to Z too – I’ll be sure to come see how you’re doing

    • Lol I used to forget mine and he’d prompt me with questions and I’d say yeah to everything. If he’d ask if I framed Roger Rabbit I’d have said yes ;D

Leave a Reply

